The Spotted Pig – West Village

The main dining room. There is more upstairs!

The main dining room. There is more upstairs!

I am always up for trying new restaurants out and I finally got to do one on my wish list – The Spotted Pig. The decor is everything pig with a funky, rustic vibe. And even better, this eclectic spot is home of the $17 Grilled Cheese Sandwich. As I placed my order, I heard echoes of John Travolta freaking out over Uma Thurman’s $5 milk shake in Pulp Fiction.  And in that same vein, after I took my first bite, I started spouting off “this is a pretty fucking good grilled cheese sandwich!”

The cheeses in the gooey center are Taleggio, Fontina, and Gruyere, while the outside is slathered with copious amounts of butter and then crusted with grated Parmesan cheese, then finally grilled to perfection. To cut the fat, a side of spicy arugula salad, dressed lightly with a lemon vinaigrette accompanies the huge sandwich. I couldn’t eat it all, but no worries, my husband was more than willing to finish it up for me. In fact, he ate his entire lunch – a delicious ricotta tart with prosciutto as well.

The $17 grilled cheese sandwich - don't you wish you hd one!

The $17 grilled cheese sandwich – don’t you wish you hd one!

The beer and wine selection is small, but superb. There were five beers on tap, yet two more in casks. Most were local brews including one cask beer made especially for April Bloomfield’s restaurants. The wines by the glass were unique and of good quality. They also have a book of specialty cocktails, but we didn’t try any of them. I suggest you take a seat at the bar. And if you are lucky enough to get Greg Bell as your bartender, you will be in for a real treat.

The Spotted  Pig is found at 314 W.  11th Street, Greenwich Village NYC

A definite Do Again!

PS: I am making the grilled cheese sandwich at home soon and will post my take on the recipe, along with how much it cost me to make it.

Leave a Reply

