My $17 Grilled Cheese Sandwich

My $17 grilled cheese sandwich.

My $17 grilled cheese sandwich.

I love cheese. I love stinky cheese, melted cheese, cheese fondue, fried cheese, cheese soup. . .geez, I sound like I am in Forrest Gump. My newest cheesy goodness was the $17 grilled cheese sandwich from The Spotted PigI loved it so much, I had to make my own. So, I went to my favorite cheese shop, Murray’s Cheese in West Village, NYC and got enough cheese to make my arteries clog permanently.

The cheeses on display! Mmmmmm.

The cheeses on display! Mmmmmm.

According to our bartender, the blend of cheeses is Taleggio, Fontina, and Gruyere. He didn’t say what proportions though, so I had to play with the ratios myself. Oh yeah, the sandwich has Parmesan cheese on the outside as well. Oh my god, I am salivating just thinking about it. After a few tries, I think I got it right. Below is the recipe. I suggest you try it out. I plan to do it again as soon as my cholesterol count goes back to normal. 

My $17 Grilled Cheese(which actually cost me much less at home!)

Crumbled cheese in food processor

Crumbled cheese in food processor

2 ounces Taleggio

2 ounces Fontina

2 ounces Gruyère

1/4 tsp kosher salt

Place in a food processor and pulse until crumbled.

Two slices of high-quality bread. (I like to use an artisanal boule from my local bakery and have them slice it for me.)

Take two slices of bread, smear with melted butter on one side of each. Top the bread slices with shaved Parmesan cheese. Flip one slice of bread in a hot cast iron pan or a Panini press. Put a generous, and I DO mean GENEROUS amount of the crumbled cheese on the top of the slice of bread. Place the second slice of bread on the cheese with the butter/Parm. side up.  Grill until golden brown. Flip. Grill other side to yummy crunchiness.

Take the sandwich out of pan and slice into  two or three pieces. Try not to eat all of the cheese oozing out onto your plate.

Make a simple arugula salad with lemon juice, olive oil, and salt to accompany your sandwich. Enjoy!

FYI: My sandwich probably cost about $5. Yeah, it is a lot cheaper than the restaurant version, but even though mine is pretty damn good, I think it is still missing something. Must go back to eat her’s again. And again. And again. . .

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “My $17 Grilled Cheese Sandwich

  1. Pingback: Spicy Indian Tomato Soup | Do Again

  2. Pingback: Creative Cheesy Creations | Do Again

Leave a Reply

