Travel-friendly Egg Sandwich

DSCN0112My husband and I like to pick up and go on short adventures a lot. We will hop on a train and go to NYC or Boston. Or if we are in a mood to go farther, we will brave I-95 and go down to Philly or DC. No matter what, we tend to leave early in the morning and need some sustenance to keep us going until we reach our destination. Inevitably, we end up at a coffee shop or drive-thru to get a breakfast sandwich and a cup of Joe. The sandwiches are usually rubbery and tasteless; not a good way to start off an adventure.

So, one morning I decided to buck the system and make our own sandwiches. I timed it. It took me 8 minutes to cook the entire thing – just about the same amount of time it took me to make a pot of coffee AND, they tasted yummy. The sausage was warm and juicy, egg yolk dribbled down our chins, and the cheese was actually cheese and not some bright orange square of cheese product.

Since then, we have bypassed the long lines at the train station or rest stops and have started our adventures on our own terms. Terms that I think are definitely worthy of Doing Again. Try this recipe out. Once you get good at it, you can get creative and modify it according to tasty tidbits you have on hand in the fridge. That is when it gets really exciting.

  • 2 slices of breakfast sausage – such as the Jimmy Dean brand

    Check out my blue egg! Farmer's market!

    Check out my blue egg! Farmer’s market!

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 English muffins, split with a fork
  • ½ cup grated cheese

Press the sausage patties out so that they are about ½ inch wider than the diameter of the English muffins. Cook in a hot skillet. I prefer cast iron.

DSCN0111 While cooking the sausage patties, place the split English muffins in a toaster on the bagel setting and toast them. If you don’t have a toaster, place both split English muffins in a pre-heated oven on broil setting – but, make sure you keep an eye on them so that they don’t burn. This is why I prefer using a toaster – too much stress for a morning meal; not worth it.

Place two large sheets of aluminum foil on the counter, near the stove. When the muffins have toasted, place one muffin, both top and bottom pieces, on the aluminum foil. This eliminates cleaning plates. Did I tell you how much I hate doing dishes?

Once the sausage patties are cooked, remove them and place them on the bottom portions of the English muffins.

Using the same pan – I hate doing dishes – crack the eggs into it and cook to your taste. My sausage oozed just enough fat to give me enough oil for the eggs. If your sausage is leaner, just put a small pat of butter in the pan, if not, just forge ahead as is. I like over easy with the yolks still nice and runny. Salt and pepper to taste. Place the cooked eggs on top of the sausage patties. (I have made these with scrambled eggs, but find the eggs fall out of the muffin more, so we fry our eggs. You can do what you desire. It’s your sandwich.)

Sprinkle half of the grated cheese over each egg. Place the remaining portions of the English muffins on top and encase the whole thing in the sheet of

Ready to roll!

Ready to roll!

aluminum foil. This will allow the cheese to get melty and for the sandwich to stay warm longer.

By now, your coffee is done. Put some in a To Go cup and you are on your way. This took me a whole 8 minutes to complete. I didn’t have to stand in line; my sandwich was much tastier than one from a coffee shop; it was cheaper; and I only have the skillet, small grater, and a spatula to clean up.

Travel-friendly egg sandwich – Printer friendly version

One thought on “Travel-friendly Egg Sandwich

Leave a Reply

