Spicy Indian Tomato Soup

Makes me want to go to India! It's vegan too!

Makes me want to go to India! It’s vegan too!

I love, love, love this soup. I love it because it is easy. I love it because it is healthy. I love it because it reminds me of a bright, summer day I spent on Sandy Point with my friend, Margot. And I love it because it has just right amount of warm spices and bright acid.

Eat this with my $17 Grilled Cheese Sandwich and you will have one heck of a meal! Might I suggest you cut the sandwich into finger-like strips? That would not only give you a cheesy-good sandwich to go with your soup,  but this makes it more dunkable too! Enjoy!

  • 1 cup finely chopped onions
  • 1-2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 pinch of cayenne or 1 small chili, minced.
  • 1 tsp ground cumin seeds
  • ½ tsp turmeric
  • ¼ tsp ground cardamom
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 (48 ounce) container of tomato juice
  • 1 cup water or stock
  • lime wedges

Optional: plain yogurt for garnish

In a medium saucepan, sauté the onion in oil until translucent.

Add the chili and spices and sauté another minute, stirring contstantly. Add the tomato juice and water. Simmer for about 20 minutes to blend the flavors.

Serve in bowls with a lime wedge. (The acid from the lime really adds depth to the soup – don’t skip this.)

**If you decide to use low sodium tomato juice, you may need to add salt as well. Regular tomato soup is already salty enough for most tastes.

Can’t get much easier than that!

Spicy Indian Tomato Soup – printer friendly version!

RELATED ARTICLE: $17 GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICH

Leave a Reply

