Vegan Chipotle Chili – and yes Virginia, it does taste delicious!

I am not a vegan, but I do like to eat less meat and my husband loves chili.

Vegan Chipotle Chili

Vegan Chipotle Chili

What is a gal to do?

Fortunately, one of my vegetarian friends told me about a great product called Field Roast sausages. I how found them at Whole Foods, but I am sure other markets have them as well. I have eaten the apple/sage and italian sausages multiple times and loved them, but never the chipotle. So, in an attempt to please me AND my husband I decided to experiment. I was up front about how the chili was vegan and my husband was willing to try it.

I am please to say that not only did he like it; he loved it! He chowed down a big bowl and said he was willing to consider it a Do Again. Whoopie! Hope you like it too!

Vegan Chipotle Chili – Printer-friendly version!

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ large white onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 1lb package of  Field Roast Chipotle sausages, crumbled
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 3 tbsp masa harina

Place the olive oil into a heavy saucepan and over medium heat. Put the diced onion and minced garlic into the pan and sauté until translucent, not browned. Stir occasionally.

While the vegetables are sautéing, take the sausages out of their casings and crumble. Place the crumbled sausage into the pan and cook until slightly browned. This gives a nice texture to the crumbles.

Add the cumin and cook for a few minutes to release its oils. Once fragrant, pour in the vegetable stock, and simmer. After about 20 minutes, sprinkle the masa harina in the chili to thicken it. Cook for an additional 5 minutes or until it is to a consistency that you desire.

WARNING: The chili, at this point, is quite spicy. So, to account for that, we put additional toppings such as sour cream, grated cheese, cilantro and minced red onion. But that makes it not vegan – the good thing is that there are vegan alternatives for these dairy items – if being vegan is important to you. What we did find out though, was that after it sits in the fridge overnight, the spiciness mellows out and it is much more palatable for those who do not desire to eat fiery food. Personally, I liked it spicy. Another way you can tone down the spices is to use some links of the Italian Field Roast sausages. Both techniques work well.

Leave a Reply

