Creative Cheesy Creations

Grilled Cheese with Balsamic Cherry Spread

Grilled Cheese with Balsamic Cherry Spread

This isn’t so much as a recipe, as it is a way of thinking. I love grilled cheese sandwiches. You know this if you have read about my experience at The Spotted Pig and my rendition of the $17 Grilled Cheese Sandwich (which is now $18 by the way!). Because of this undying love for all things cheesy and melty, I refuse to settle for a pedestrian grilled cheese sandwich. I want adventure! Therefore, the other day when the craving hit me, I threw open the fridge with gusto and went rummaging.

Thanks to my generous sister-in-law, Julie, I had a plethora of cheeses and other tasty treats to experiment with.

So, I got creative and made a cheese mixture from what was available. I grated the onion gouda and blended it with some remnants of my herbed goat cheese spread and a few glugs of heavy cream and a dash of salt. Mushed them all together and made a spreadable paste. But I wan’t done yet. I dug deep into the recesses of my holiday leftovers and found the Balsamic Cherry Spread Julie had brought for Christmas and became inspired. After prepping my soon-to-be grilled cheese sandwich, I schmeered a bit of the cherry goodness on top of the cheese to create a new masterpiece.

My husband doubted my creative genius and went for a sandwich sans cherry. Poor guy; he knew not what he had done. But, then he made the mistake of asking for a bite of my sandwich.  Being the loving wife that I am, I complied. Must say that he regretted this  once he took a taste of my delectable delight and swooned. That’s okay. I will experiment with dried cherries and balsamic vinegar to re-create this spread so that he can have a whole sandwich next time.

So, I guess what I am saying is –

Be brave like Pocahontas! Dig deep into that fridge or pantry and try out weird combos. You may have to eat come duds, but every once in a while you get a “ta-dah!!!”

So, now I have to figure out what to do with carrot pickles and leftover duck breast. Hmmm. . . .

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

